Last week, my brother Omar, my cousin Munir, his sister Shama, and I went to the Waterloo Recreational Center to listen to a few local guest speakers to present their spoken word poetry. I was amazed with how many great poets we have in the region. The organizers of the event (I forget what it was called) somehow managed to get a guest poet who travels around the world doing spoken word poetry. His name is Boonaa Mohammed. This event was an Islamic based event and all the spoken word poetry from all the guest poets were based around Islam but, Boonaa Mohammed, while delivering the Islamic message, gave a lot of life lessons in his poetry. I took a look at his twitter page and I found many followers who weren't even Muslim. This shows that his audience is well beyond the Islamic community and communicates to people of all sorts of religions. Check out one of his spoken word poetry videos on YouTube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azpHbLgcPuE
Tyler
5/10/2013 04:29:38 am

You have antidaephobia? That's rough man..

Reply



Leave a Reply.